Go Party? Go Skafa! Go Skafa! Go Party!

The James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA) of 1978 and the Northeastern Quebec Agreement (NEQA) of 1978 were the first villages on modern lands in Canada to fulfill an obligation of fomentary issues dating back to the late 19th, but more importantly, our treaty created the basis on which we continued to build and develop for four and a half decades. In 1975, there were 6,000 in our country, and today we are 20,000 in 11 municipalities. Our growth has been made possible by the vision, determination and strength of our leaders, who have fought hard to ensure that our rights as indigenous peoples and as Crees are fully expressed. In 2008-2010, INAC provided $2,367,400 to the Avataq Cultural Institute for tuition and educational funding agreements, in particular the Post-Secondary Assistance Program (PSSSP) and the Cultural Centres and Education Centres Program. On March 24, 2010, the governments of Quebec and Canada and the Inuit renewed a tripartite housing agreement in Nunavik. This new 5-year agreement will allow the construction of some 340 social housing units in Nunavik. As outlined in this agreement, the Government of Canada will finance the construction of housing units, while the Quebec government will assume the operating deficit over a 15-year period. Makivik Corporation will be the main contractor for building construction and the Kativik Municipal Housing Bureau will be owner and manager. In 2008-09, INAC contributed a total of $13,802,900 to Makivik Corporation and $14,221,000 in 2009-10.

The JBNQA and NEQA were the first land-use agreements signed in modern times between the governments of Quebec and Canada and the Aborigines. These agreements contain components of self-management and lay the groundwork for a new relationship between the Cree, Inuit, Naskapi and the Government of Canada. The area covered by the JBNQA and THE NEQA covers more than one million square kilometres of land in Quebec, between the 48th and 62nd parallels. It was once part of a larger federal territory known as Ruperts Land, from which two long distances were transferred to Quebec in 1898 and 1912. These negotiations culminated on November 11, 1975, with the signing of the JBNQA by the Government of Quebec, the Government of Canada, the Eeyou Istchee Crees and the Nunavik Inuit. It was an unprecedented agreement in the history of state-Aboriginal relations in both Canada and North America.

Comments are closed.